Doing scary things is good for you (+ my new job)

I started a new job last week. For those of you who are curious and nosy, I’m working at EnVeritas, a Content Marketing Firm doing social media and other cool web things. My official title is Digital Media Coordinator (sounds cool, right?! Right!).

Starting a new job is always terrifying. It’s CHANGE. It’s something new, in a place you haven’t proven yourself, with people you don’t know. It’s easy to stay somewhere comfortable and lose the opportunities that give you butterflies and nausea all at the same time.

My experience might be a little more nauseating because now I’m working part time.

I quit a full time, comfortable, not-particularly-difficult job for a part time, more challenging, and what-I-really-want-to-do job. Taking a leap like this is always scary. I have freelance on the side, I have the possibility of what could come at this job, but mostly I had my own guts to be able to take the step into a new company, position, and field.

Lauren talked about taking risks in her last post, and I guess I really wanted to expand on that, to show once again that doing scary things is the biggest character builder ever. I’ve done some other scary things in my life. I moved down to South Carolina without a job, traveled to China alone at age 17 (don’t worry, I was with people in China), and spent vast amounts of my free time writing novels (seriously, it can be a lil’ scary sometimes). Every single time the experience brought me perspective, more humility, less stupidity, and more to give.

Go do something wild (but don’t get yourself arrested). You’ll thank me.

Vanessa is a digital media coordinator by day and a writer, novelist, and badass cook by night. She loves used bookstores, is way too serious about tea, and doesn’t give a damn if she wears the same outfit 2 days in a row. She totally wants to be your friend, so you should follow her on twitter & maybe check out her writing blog.
4 thoughts on “Doing scary things is good for you (+ my new job)

  1. Pingback: It’s Almost a New Year | Grammar. Style. Life.

Leave a Reply

