Goodness of Strangers

Yesterday after work I did something weird. Well, maybe not weird, but at least unusual. I went to a stranger’s house with my best friend and took her furniture, artwork, rugs, curtains, kitchen utensils, and other odds and ends and then I left.

Before you jump to conclusions, I’m not admitting to burglary here. I went there invited.

This woman is moving to California on Sunday. In just her car (just one car!). And instead of trying to sell her the things she can’t bring with her, she decided to give her things away to friends (or friends of friends in my case) and then donate what’s left to Goodwill.

moving truck

Actual truck not pictured.

I don’t know this woman at all, and I’ll probably never see her again. But now I’ve got a (pretty nice) southwestern style area rug to remember her by. The kind stranger that decided to do something nice before she left town for good.

While it is holiday season, I don’t think this outpouring of kindness had anything to do with Christmas. This woman is simply a genuinely nice person.

My best friend just moved into an apartment without any furniture to her name. Since signing the lease she’s been offered couches, bedroom sets, coffee tables, kitchenware, and so much more. Last night when we went to go pick some of it up, it struck me how there are still nice people in this world. How everything isn’t always doom and gloom. And how nice it is to end my year on such a sweet notion.

Chelsea currently works as a copywriter at a software company. She is a syntax enthusiast and always enjoys a good dinner party.
Leave a Reply

