In Memorium: Maya Angelou

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

– Maya Angelou

I couldn’t think of anything to write about for this blog post. I actually contemplated filling it with Shannon Beador memes (let’s all be thankful it hasn’t come to that). Then something absolutely terrible happened – the world lost one of it’s greatest writers.

Since this blog was started by a group of amazing, clever lady writers, it’s only right that we pay homage to one of the cleverest lady writers of all time, Ms. Maya Angelou.

Her name is legendary itself. I don’t need to write about how much my respect for the written word changed after I read, “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings,” you already know it as the autobiography that changed autobiographies forever. I don’t need to explain how her involvement in the Civil Rights Movement is one of my inspirations for feminist thought, you already know her as the Presidential Medal of Freedom honoree.

After reading “I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings,” in high school I felt as if I had lost my innocence a bit. Here I was, this naive and superficial 15 year old white girl in the burbs. I didn’t have any concerns other than if I could snag a ride to the mall that weekend. After reading that book, I felt enlightened but also as if I had become a part of a club. That was the first time I consciously started thinking about feminism.

Maya Angelou was everything to everyone. Her work and reputation is legendary. Despite her passing, her writing, her work and how it inspired us all will live one. For that, I’ll refrain from classifying myself as a writer at least for today because I have never made anyone feel. Ms. Maya Angelou will always make us feel, even in her absence.

 

Leave a Reply

