On Gratefulness

I’ve been spending a lot of time lately thinking about “emotional wellness.” Partly because I’m so bad at it and because I have to. At work yesterday though, a colleague finally said something that resonated with me: “Be grateful everyday and tell people how thankful you are for them.” It may not be the first time I’ve heard this, but it was the first time I was told to be grateful for everything from a cold turkey sandwich to having a family that loves me.

It’s probably just a unique personality trait of mine that I’m rarely content with my life in the moment. I’m constantly thinking about what I don’t have or what I have left to accomplish. I really got to thinking though and think that the latter at least is a trait most writers have.

I mean who else would be masochistic enough to spend hours on end editing something until perfection, knowing perfection is unattainable? Who else would knowingly spend their time on projects that have high probabilities of never being successes simply due to circumstances? It takes quite the personality to deal with being a writer. That said, I still think it’s important and also liberating to be grateful for everything all the time.

So, here’s what I’m grateful for:

My freedom,
Having forums where I can bitch about the patriarchy,
Being surrounded by individuals who believe in me even when I don’t believe in myself,
Video chat,
And this lovely blog that brings me so, so much joy.

So, I’ve got to ask blogosphere what are you grateful for today?

Ashley HaglundAshley works in corporate, health care and non-profit communications. She loves starting new writing projects; is a media junkie; enjoys studying science, technology and patent law issues; and has a love/hate relationship with semi-colons. To see her face and be her internet friend, follow her on twitter.
Leave a Reply

